music & the wende, now

a collective endeavor in Latvia 2023

'music and the wende, now' is a rather unique, DYI, collective and frankly beautiful celebration of experimental music that i was lucky to initiate, curate, nourrish, lead, and co-create  

— i.e. a series of concerts, lectures, workshops in Latvia, from Sept.09-17.2023 with: 

liisa hirsch (EE), andrejs poikāns (LV), marija rasa kudabaitė (LT/BE), edgars rubenis (LV), jurijs santalovs (LV), ernests vilsons (LV), michael winter (USA/ DE) and myself. our collective is made up of music researchers, composers, performers, and teachers united by friendship and shared musical interests who wished to meet and work together. we realized that this 'meeting' had more profound implications because of the barriers between the art and music scenes between Eastern and Western Europe that still exist well after the Wende. as such, we felt it was essential to hold this first meeting in Eastern Europe to learn more about and collaborate with the creative communities there, and aim to publish a set of texts that chronicle our experience together. 

detailed information about the participants, the program of the concerts (including the premiere of several pieces by ernests vilsons, michael winter and myself), and a forthcoming publication may be found on 'dis ce que' .

made thanks to the financial support of the Goethe Institute, the Konrad Boehmer Foundation, the city of Liepajā, and Tapala lapa. 

                     complete list of works shared during the series

by liisa hirsch: page one (2003), Vseva's Light (2007)

by andrejs poikāns: penthesilea (2023)

by marija rasa kudabaitė: sea salt (2023), microlands (2021), ulmas (2022)

by edgars rubenis: sea unbound (2023)

by jurjis santalovs: echo minimal (2023)

by ernests vilsons: and 'presently' not at all unimportant (2023), untitled electronic piece (2023)

by michael winter: necklaces (2016), ostinato and interrupt (2017), partition and gate (2014), lv (2013), a chance happening (2007), remembering clive wearing (2017), preliminary thoughts (2016)

by myself: for edgars (2021), for siblings (tempered) (2023)